1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Federal election results: Who won in Toronto and the GTA?

MEREDITH BOND | posted Tuesday, Oct 22nd, 2019

The results are in and the 2019 federal election is over.

Here are your new MPs for Toronto and the GTA, including the results from the top 10 GTA ridings to watch that were expected to be close races.

Top 10 GTA Ridings to Watch results


Result: Liberal Deborah Shulte has been re-elected.

Incumbent: Liberal MP Deborah Schulte

Who were the candidates?

  • Liberal: Deborah Schulte
  • Conservative: Anna Roberts
  • NDP: Emilio Bernardo-Ciddio
  • Green Party: Ann Raney
  • People’s Party of Canada: Anton Stragcic


Result: Liberal incumbent Francesco Sorbara has been re-elected.

Incumbent: Liberal MP Francesco Sorbara

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Francesco Sorbara
  • Conservative: Teresa Kruze
  • NDP: Peter Devita
  • Green Party: Raquel Front
  • People’s Party of Canada: Domenic Montesano


Result: Liberal Tony Van Bynen has won the seat.

Incumbent: Liberal MP Kyle Peterson

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Tony Van Bynen
  • Conservative: Lois Brown
  • NDP: Yvonne Kelly
  • Green Party: Walter Bauer
  • People’s Party of Canada: Andrew McCaughtrie

Richmond Hill

Result: too close to call as of 1:45 a.m. Tuesday

Incumbent: Liberal MP Majid Jowhari

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Majid Jowhari
  • Conservative: Costas Menegakis
  • NDP: Adam DeVita
  • Green Party: Ichha Kohli
  • People’s Party of Canada: Igor D. Tvorogov


Result: Liberal Ryan Turnbull has won.

Incumbent: Independent MP Celina Caesar-Chavannes

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Ryan Turnbull
  • Conservative: Todd McCarthy
  • NDP: Brian Dias
  • Green Party: Dr. Paul Slavchenko
  • People’s Party of Canada: Mirko Pejic


Result: Liberal MP Jean Yip has been re-elected.

Incumbent: Liberal MP Jean Yip

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Jean Yip
  • Conservative: Sean Hu
  • NDP: Larisa Julius
  • Green Party: Randi Ramdeen
  • People’s Party of Canada: Anthony Internicola


Result: Liberal Adam van Koeverden has beaten incumbent Conservative Lisa Raitt

Incumbent: Conservative MP Lisa Raitt

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Adam van Koeverden
  • Conservative: Lisa Raitt
  • NDP: Farina Hassan
  • Green Party: Eleanor Hayward
  • People’s Party of Canada: Percy Dastur


Result: Liberal MP Marco Mendicino has been re-elected.

Incumbent: Liberal MP Marco Mendicino

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Marco Mendicino
  • Conservative: Chani Aryeh-Bain
  • NDP: Alexandra Nash
  • Green Party: Reuben DeBoer
  • People’s Party of Canada: Michael Staffieri


Result: Liberal Gagan Sikand has been re-elected

Incumbent: Liberal MP Gagan Sikand

Who were the candidates:

  • Liberal: Gagan Sikand
  • Conservative: Ghada Melek
  • NDP: Samir Girguis
  • Green Party: Chris Hill
  • People’s Party of Canada: Thomas McIver


Result: Liberal Helena Jaczek has beaten incumbent Independent candidate Jane Philpott.

Incumbent: Independent MP Jane Philpott

Who were the candidates:

  • Independent: Jane Philpott
  • Liberal: Helena Jaczek
  • Conservative: Theodore Anthony
  • NDP: Hal Berman
  • Green Party: Roy Long
  • People’s Party of Canada: Jeremy Lin

Toronto Results

Seat count:

Liberals: 25
Conservatives: 0
NDP: 0
Green Party: 0
People’s Party of Canada: 0


Etobicoke North: Liberal Kristy Duncan

Etobicoke Centre: Liberal Yvan Baker

Etobicoke-Lakeshore: Liberal James Maloney

York-South Weston: Liberal Ahmed Hussen

Humber River-Black Creek: Liberal Judy Sgro

Parkdale-High Park: Liberal Arif Virani

York Centre: Liberal Michael Levitt

Eglinton-Lawrence: Liberal Marco Mendicino

Davenport: Liberal Julie Dzerowicz

Spadina-Fort York: Liberal Adam Vaughan

Willowdale: Liberal Ali Ehassi

Don Valley West: Liberal Rob Oliphant

Don Valley North: Liberal Han Dong

Don Valley East: Liberal Yasmin Ratansi

Toronto- St. Paul’s: Liberal Carolyn Bennett

University-Rosedale: Liberal Chrystia Freeland

Toronto Centre: Liberal Bill Morneau

Toronto-Danforth: Liberal Julie Dabrusin

Beaches-East York: Liberal Nathaniel Erskine-Smith

Scarborough Centre: Liberal Salma Zahid

Scarborough Southwest: Liberal Bill Blair

Scarborough North: Liberal Shaun Chen

Scarborough-Agincourt: Liberal Jean Yip

Scarborough-Guildwood: Liberal John McKay

Scarborough Rouge Park: Liberal Gary Anandasangaree

GTA Results

Seat count:

Liberals: 23
Conservatives: 8
NDP: 0
Green Party: 0
People’s Party of Canada: 0


Brampton West: Liberal Kamal Khera

Brampton South: Liberal Sonia Sidhu

Brampton North: Liberal Ruby Sahota

Brampton Centre: Liberal Ramesh Sangha

Brampton East: Liberal Maninder Sidhu

Mississauga-Streetsville: Liberal Gagan Sikand

Mississauga-Erin Mills: Liberal Iqra Khalid

Mississauga-Lakeshore: Liberal Sven Spengemann

Mississauga Centre: Liberal Omar Alghabra

Mississauga East-Cooksville: Liberal Peter Fonseca

Mississauga-Malton: Liberal Navdeep Bains

Oakville: Liberal Anita Anand

Oakville North-Burlington: Liberal Pam Damoff

Milton: Liberal Adam van Koeverden

Burlington: Liberal Karina Gould

Wellington-Halton Hills: Conservative Michael Chong

Dufferin-Caldeon: Conservative Kyle Seeback

King-Vaughan: Liberal Deborah Shulte

Vaughan-Woodbridge: Liberal Francesco Sorbara

York-Simcoe: Conservative Scot Davidson

Newmarket-Aurora: Liberal Tony Van Bynen

Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill: Conservative Leona Alleslev

Thornhill: Conservative Peter Kent

Richmond Hill: too close to call as of 1:45 a.m. Tuesday

Markham Stouffville: Liberal Helena Jaczek

Markham Unionville: Conservative Bob Saroya

Markham-Thornhill: Liberal Mary Ng

Whitby: Liberal Ryan Turnbull

Durham: Conservative Erin O’Toole

Oshawa: Conservative Colin Carrie

Pickering-Uxbridge: Liberal Jennifer O’Connell

Ajax: Liberal Mark Holland


  • No comments have been left yet, get the conversation started!

Leave a Comment Below

Sign in to comment.

All fields are required.

Want to embed media into your comment? Just paste in a URL in a separate paragraph to the page where you would normally view the media (like on YouTube) and it will automatically be embedded into your comment.